Follow ACMA
Twitter Facebook Linkedin
MissionBoard of DirectorsFundraisingRequest a W-9 FormContact Us
Standards of Practice & Scope of Services

Case Management Standards of Practice and Scope of Services

Originally developed in 2004, with periodic modifications including the most recent revisions in 2020, ACMA’s Standards of Practice and Scope of Services for health care delivery and Transitions of Care (TOC) professionals is an essential reference guide for case management practitioners.

The ACMA National Board of Directors recognizes our Standards of Practice and Scope of Services should reflect the changing health care environment, delineate the continuum of services that are provided by health care delivery system case managers, provide professional parameters by which case managers deliver care and define the current minimum standards by which others benchmark the practice.

Read the CM Standards

Physician Advisor Standards of Practice and Scope of Services

Over the last decade, health systems are turning to the Physician Advisor role to address regulatory and payer requirements associated with medical necessity, utilization, accurate clinical documentation and appropriate patient status. The Physician Advisor role assists institutions to realize improved financial, quality and patient flow measures that are essential to achieving the goals of value-based care.

ACMA along with the Association of Physician Leadership in Care Management (APLCM) developed the Physician Advisor Standards of Practice and Scope of Services in 2019 to outline the general expectations, responsibilities, services delivered, requirements and competencies needed to function in the Physician Advisor role.

Read the PA Standards

Transitions of Care Standards of Practice and Implementation

ACMA Transitions of Care (TOC) Standards provide a framework – applicable across all care settings – to implement and evaluate a process to improve care transitions. In developing these standards, ACMA included representation from 15 organizations representing 10 practice settings that influence the navigation of our health care system.

TOC standards should be applied across all care settings and reflect the minimum elements necessary to create successful transitions. Each standard describes both the structures and the services required to meet that standard. There are over 2500 quality measures associated with care transitions, often practice specific. The ACMA TOC Standards seek to align these various measurements into consensus measures that guide the evaluation of effective care transitions. For additional TOC information, visit our website

Read the TOC Standards


Vote by January 28: ACMA National and Chapter Board Elections

A ballot for the 2022 ACMA National Board of Directors and Chapter Leaders was emailed to you on Friday, January 14 with the subject line "Cast Your Vote for ACMA National Board and Chapter Leaders." If you cannot locate that email with your unique link to vote, please check your spam or junk folder. If you are still unable to locate it, please contact ACMA for assistance. We look forward to receiving your vote by Friday, January 28.

2022 ACMA National Conference in Dallas

Registration is now open for the 29th Annual National Case Management and Transitions of Care Conference and 23rd Annual ACMA Meeting in Dallas, May 1-4 at the Gaylord Texan Resort and Convention Center! Learn More and Register >>

Call for Presentations - 2022 Leadership and Physician Advisor Conference

ACMA is now accepting presentation proposals the 2022 Leadership and Physician Advisor Conference, as well as select chapter conferences. Presentations must be submitted by January 26, 2022. The conference will take place in New Orleans on November 16-18, 2022. Submit Your Presentation Now >>>

Webinar: Behavioral Health and Moving Beyond the Era of COVID: Caring for Both Patients and Providers

Join ACMA and Sunovion Pharmaceuticals on February 2 to discuss the current behavioral health challenges for both patients and providers in navigating a course through the pandemic. The webinar will include a focus on the ongoing effects of the lockdowns and thoughts on the longer-term implications for providing care to patients with serious mental illness. Learn More and Register >>>

ACM Winter Workshop

Register now for the ACM WInter Workshop. The five-hour course, broken into two, 2 1/2 hour sessions, will begin at 9:00 a.m. CT on both Saturday, February 19 and Saturday, February 26. Registration for the two-part webinar series closes on Wednesday, July 21. To learn more and/or register, click here. >>>

Is your Compass 2021 training complete?

Time is running out to complete your curricula in order to receive continuing education certificates. All trainees must complete the curricula and evaluations prior to January 31, 2022. Log in to check your courses >>>

American Case Management Association
40 Rahling Circle
Little Rock, AR 72223
Phone: 501-907-ACMA (2262)
Fax: 501-227-4247